Forbes magazine just said 2016 is going to be the year of Pot! We’re looking forward to what’s in store this year from a cannabis perspective.
One of the top questions at a HAPPY part is what isn’t legal. It’s understandable there is confusion as the laws have been changing, or rather evolving every few months since voters in Oregon passed to legalize cannabis in November of 2014.
It wasn’t until July 1, 2015 where cannabis became legal in the state, thus allowing for people who didn’t have medical marijuana cards to have access to it. Although it wasn’t officially accessible until October 1, 2015 when people could legally purchase cannabis from approved dispensaries.
Today, Oregon law states that cannabis is legal to people age 21 and older, they can carry an ounce with them at any given time and can share or give it away, receive it as a gift and have up to 8 ounces at their private residence. However, cannabis cannot be used in public.
Additionally, those travelling with cannabis can only do so within the state of Oregon, no crossing into Washington, Idaho or California with Oregon weed. However, you can fly on Alaska Airlines within Oregon only with no fear of reprisal.
Oregonians are also allowed to grow up to 4 plants per residence, so even if there are 4 adults in the house, there can only be 4 plants total. You can also make edible products at home and receive them as gifts. But again, you can only use them in private places.
Adults 21 and over can purchase cannabis including dried leaves and flowers, immature plants and seeds. There is a purchasing limit of one quarter (7 grams) of dried leaves and flowers per retail customer in one day. There is no limit on the amount of seeds that can be sold. However, a dispensary may only sell four immature marijuana plants to the same individual between October 1, 2015 and December 31, 2016.
On January 4th the OLCC will begin accepting retail applications, which will allow them to sell all recreational cannabis products, including oils, tinctures, edibles, shatters, etc. Most retail stores are expected to open in the third quarter of 2016. However, if you’re out of state, you’ll have to wait 2 years before you can apply for a license. Keeping it local.
When recreational marijuana is sold in recreational stores, the taxes will range from 17 to 20 percent. According to the OLCC, the tax breakdown will be as follows:
- 40 percent to Common School Fund
- 20 percent to Mental Health Alcoholism and Drug Services
- 15 percent to State Police
- 10 percent to Cities for enforcement of the measure
- 10 percent to Counties for enforcement of the measure
- 5 percent to Oregon Health Authority for alcohol and drug abuse prevention
Recreational cannabis is being handled by the OLCC, because it is a recreational drug similar to alcohol. As such, please do not consume and drive. Although there isn’t a way to be tested yet on whether or not you’re driving high, there are devices coming onto the market soon that will allow cops to tell if you’re too high to drive. Please drive responsible and know your limits.
Here’s to 2016 being the Year of Cannabis! Just make sure to educate before you recreate.
Here are cannabis educational links to check out: